This Week in Beach Volleyball

This Week in Beach Volleyball: All Eyes on Jinjiang

beach volleyball-heather bansley-brandie wilkerson

Photo credit: FIVB

The wacky and wild and wonderful tournament that was AVP Austin has alas met its wacky and wild and wonderful conclusion. It was a tournament that featured one bout of history after the next. Jake Gibb and Taylor Crabb became the first team since 2007 to win an AVP after losing in the first round, after they had contributed to the first time in AVP history both No. 1 seeds lost in the aforementioned first round.

Kim Hildreth and Sarah Schermerhorn, at Q7, became the lowest seeded team to make an AVP final. Karissa Cook and Jace Pardon won their first career AVPs. Crabb strung together his longest tournament winning streak, now at three, after claiming Chicago, Huntington and Austin. It was a fantastic weekend for domestic volleyball.

And now, all eyes turn overseas this week in beach volleyball.

FIVB Beach Volleyball

May 22-26

  • What: Four-Star in Jinjiang, China
  • Who’s competing:
    • Women: Kelly Claes, Sarah Sponcil; Kerri Walsh Jennings, Brooke Sweat; Sara Hughes, Summer Ross; Emily Day, Betsi Flint.
    • Men: Tri Bourne, Trevor Crabb; Chase Budinger, Casey Patterson; Taylor Crabb, Jake Gibb; Phil Dalhausser, Nick Lucena; Ryan Doherty, John Hyden.

Pan American Beach Volleyball

May 22-23

** May 22 will be pool play, May 23 single elimination bracket play

  • What: Qualifier for the Pan American Games, held in Lima, Peru, from July 26-August 11
  • Where: South Side Manhattan Beach Pier
    • Women: Jace Pardon, Karissa Cook; Kim DiCello, Katie Spieler; Heather Boyan, Kristen Petrasic; Charlie Ekstrom, Brook Bauer; Perl Brennan, Olivia Bakos; Natalie Hayes, Kirsten Overton; Emily Reinking, Lacey Fuller; Amelia Smith, Maddie Daily; Courtney Bowen, Sunny Villapando.
    • Men: Billy Kolinske, Miles Evans; Eric Zaun, Avery Drost; Mark Burik, Ian Satterfield; Travis Mewhirter, Kyle Friend; DR Vander Meer, Andrew Dentler; Timmy Brewster, Mike Boag; Logan Webber, Christian Honer; Chris Austin, Kris Johnson; Miles Partain, Marcus Partain